ACT Place Names Committee

The ACT Place Names Committee sets the policy for naming of public places on Territory Land in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

ACT Place Names Committee


The committee is appointed by the Minister for Planning to advise on public place naming, geographical naming and contentious naming matters. The current members are:

  • Mr Jeff Brown, Surveyor-General of the ACT (Co-Chair)
  • Dr David Headon, historian (Co-Chair)
  • Dr Jay Arthur, historian
  • Ms Natalie Broughton, National Capital Authority
  • Ms Roslyn Brown, United Ngunnawal Elders Council
  • Ms Samantha Faulkner, representing Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander peoples
  • Mrs Anne McGrath, historian
  • Mr Allen Mawer, historian
  • Dr Alan Roberts, historian and cultural heritage
  • Ms Alex Sloan, media
  • Dr Marilyn Truscott, historian and heritage
  • Dr Jill Waterhouse, historian


  • Ms Sharon Priestly, ACT Place Names Officer
  • Mr Peter Phillips, ACT Place Names Officer

Committee responsibilities

The terms of reference for the Place Names Committee are to:

  • establish policies and guidelines for the determination of place names for territory land in the ACT, including suburbs, roads, public places and geographic features; and 
  • provide recommendations to the Minister or his delegate on place names for territory land in the ACT.

The Committee meets on an as required basis or at least twice a year. A meeting is arranged whenever issues arise that need a consensus of opinion from the Committee. Issues that would require a meeting may include: 

  • discussion on and formulation of place names policies
  • contentious issues
  • discussion on new suburb names and/or themes

Advice is sought from Indigenous Elders, nominated experts (historians and cultural experts) from external agencies, organisations and community groups when required.

Related pages

The ACT Government is committed to improving the accessibility of web content. To provide feedback or request an accessible version of a document please contact us or phone 13 22 81.