About us

The Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate aims to lead the nation in achieving sustainable outcomes; to be a ‘liveable and sustainable city’. The Directorate is responsible for developing and implementing a wide range of policies and programs across city planning and development, climate change and the environment.

One of the Directorate's core functions is planning for Canberra’s future growth in partnership with the community. A number of divisions within the Directorate work together to achieve this objective including:

  • the Land Supply and Policy Division is responsible for land development projects including affordable housing, land economics, land strategy and policy and building policy
  • the Planning Policy Division is responsible for the Territory Plan (which provides the policy framework for the administration of planning in the ACT), strategic planning, civil infrastructure planning and major projects
  • the Urban Renewal Division includes the Asbestos Response Taskforce and the Public Housing Renewal Taskforce as well as strategic projects and infrastructure and urban projects
  • the Planning Delivery Division administers the Territory Plan in terms of planning approval, leasing and deed management and environmental impact statements. This Division includes the Office of the Surveyor-General and Land Information
  • the Urban Renewal Division is responsible for driving the ACT Government’s urban renewal agenda by supporting major projects that aim to improve the liveability of our city and through the delivery of the Public Housing Renewal Program, Asset Recycling Initiative and Loose-fill Asbestos Insulation Eradication Scheme.

The organisation has statutory roles—performed under various pieces of legislation, the most important of which is development assessment under the Planning and Development Act 2007.

We welcome feedback on the information we provide on this website. You can find a link to provide feedback on the bottom of every page.

The ACT Government is committed to improving the accessibility of web content. To provide feedback or request an accessible version of a document please contact us or phone 13 22 81.